Syria distancing from Turkey

I may be politically incorrect, but I love the expression ‘best enemies’ which I’ve heard used most of the time for Turkish Greek relations. But obviously it’s time use for Syrian Turkish relations as well.. Sign of an absolute failure of Turkey’s ‘zero problems policy’ which I’ve written a lot about when I was based in Beirut.
I literally was enjoying the rhetoric. The declaration of this policy has just a few months after I’ve moved to Lebanon in April 2009. Right on spot, which clearly made me feel more important than I literally was obviously. It was my first steps in journalism and it was the time my nationality valued more than my words and my ambitions. Thus, I quite liked this foreign policy game to be honest…

After 2 years, back to Istanbul what I do is to write about how this policy has literally failed.

Here is a piece I wrote for NOW Lebanon on Turkish Syrian relations: “Friends turned Foes”

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Lebanon, Syria, Turkey

Leave a Reply

